222357, Minsk, Svobody square, 2

Reception phone number:

+375 (1772) 5-55-72

Operating mode:

from 8.00 to 13.00 and from 14.00 to 17.00 on weekdays

hotline: +375 (1772) 5-55-72

Russia's State Duma ratifies agreement with Belarus on mutual recognition of visas

Tuesday, 17 January 2023

Russia's State Duma ratified the Belarusian-Russian intergovernmental agreement on the mutual recognition of visas and on other issues related to the entry of foreign citizens and stateless persons into the territory of the Member States of the Union State at a plenary session in Moscow on 17 January, BelTA has learned.

The purpose of the agreement, which was signed in Minsk on 19 June 2020, is to create a legal framework for regulating the procedure for crossing the Belarusian-Russian border by foreign citizens and stateless persons.

The document provides for the right of foreigners to enter, leave, stay, transit through the territory of Belarus and Russia on the basis of a visa issued by one of the two states and identity documents.

In order to implement the agreement, the parties are planning to set up an information exchange system on issued and canceled permits for entry and stay and on the crossing of the border of Belarus and Russia at checkpoints. The document provides that foreign citizens and stateless persons who have a temporary residence permit, a residence permit or a document for attending an international sports event in one of the two countries and an identity document shall have the right to enter, leave, stay, transit through the territory of the other state during the term of validity of these documents.

Written by: